Skip to content

Just keep moving

February 16, 2012

Still movin’, still groovin’, still strugglin’ to find time to fit it all in!

Let’s see, where did I leave off…

 

      Wed. 2/1
NROLFW 1A
Thurs. 2/2
Speedwork
Fri. 2/3
NROLFW 1B
Sat. 2/4
Stock Show
Sun. 2/5
2.18 miles
Mon. 2/6
NROLFW 1A
Tues. 2/7
1.2 miles
Wed. 2/8
Kinnect & Fetch
Thurs. 2/9
Fetch
Fri. 2/10
*Mixed compost pile
Sat. 2/11
Stairs
Sun. 2/12
NROLFW 1B
Mon. 2/13
Stretch
Tues. 2/14
*xxxxxxx
Wed. 2/15
3.03 miles
Thurs. 2/16
NROLFW 1A
Fri. 2/17 Sat. 2/18
Sun. 2/19 Mon. 2/20 Tues. 2/21 Wed. 2/22 Thurs. 2/23 Fri. 2/24 Sat. 2/25
Sun. 2/26 Mon. 2/27 Tues. 2/28 Wed. 2/29      

*Let’s look at Friday, 2/10.  I was spent most of the day laying on the sofa, exhausted!  I did finally muster up the energy to start some seeds indoors.  I also turned my compost pile.  O. M. G!  Probably one of the most insanely difficult workouts I’ve done in a long time.  Ok, not really that bad, but my arms and shoulders were exhausted by the end! 

The theme this weekend was definitely laying around.  My butt is now imprinted in the sofa cushion.  Um, well, that’s probably not new, just deeper.  After sitting around until about 9:00 pm on Saturday, I decided to set my timer for 10 minutes and run stairs.  I ended up doing a circuit of 4 minutes stairs, 1 minute of push ups, 4 minutes of stairs, 1 minute of crunches.  Got my heart pumping and my energy level up!  Too bad it was bedtime!

You’ll notice the X’s on Tuesday.  I’d love to tell you those are kisses.  They’re not.  That’s my lazy bum not moving.  Unless you count the multiple trips from my desk to the copier.  I don’t for the purposes of February’s challenge.  I promise I won’t do it again.

Then let’s look at Wednesday, 2/15.  I loved this run!  It worked out to 3.03 miles in 34:04.  Splits:

Mile 1 11:04
Mile 2 11:32
Mile 3 11:11

It wasn’t as fast as I wanted, but negative splits are never a bad thing!

Training Plan Update

I told you here that I was participating in a training program that would culminate in the Cowtown 5k.  Due to general flakiness on my part, that won’t be happening due to a prior commitment (G’s last basketball games).  Bad Mom!

This training program was from RunKeeper, and I paid $9.99 for it, since I’m not an elite member.  I didn’t read the fine print, however, and lost it when I didn’t complete it within 20 days of the end of the class.  I understand the reasoning behind it, but I’m still not happy about it.  It will definitely make me think twice before purchasing a “Fitness Class” from RunKeeper again.  I will need to commit, and make sure I’m really ready for the class.

This left me adrift.  I had no real plan and nothing to train for until July (more on that later!).  I don’t do well without a plan, and I really need to run!  I want to be fast!  Can’t get fast if I don’t run fast!

Last year, when I started running, I downloaded the C25K ap on my phone.  I loved it to get started running, so why not use it to get faster!  My plan is to start at Week 1.  I plan to run slow during the walk portions and run at my goal race pace for the run portions! 

I’ll be Speedy McSpeederson in no time!

And a recipe!

Applesauce1000

Homemade Applesauce

  • 2 lbs. Pink Lady (or other sweet apple)
  • 1-1/2 c. water
  • scant 1 tbsp. lime juice

Roughly core and chop apples and throw into large pot with water and lime juice.  Applesauce1001

At this point, you can also add additional flavorings at this point.  As you can see, I added a cinnamon stick.Applesauce1002Bring to a boil over medium high heat, then lower heat and simmer for about 30 minutes.Applesauce1003When they’re soft and mushy, remove from heat and let cool for awhile.  I ate dinner and cleaned the kitchen.  Probably could have made dessert, but this was dessert.Applesauce1004Know what this is?  It was a gift.  I got to use it for this project!Applesauce1005Remove the cinnamon stick if you used one.  Dump everything else into the food processor.  An immersion blender would work really well for this step, too.  It would also be easier clean up.  That’s not how I roll, though.  Gotta use the new toys!Applesauce1006Process until it reaches the desired consistency.  Mine was just a little chunky.  Mmmm.Applesauce1007Spoon into jars for storage.  These little guys are going into the freezer.  G gets to take one for lunch each day.  By the time she gets to eat lunch, they’re no longer frozen, but still cold!

 

These were also a gift.  I got to use the paring knives to chop the apples.  Nobody got left out!  Applesauce1008

Also…

In exciting blog news: I am no longer .wordpress.com!  You can find me by typing www.theramblingrunner.com!  I am still hosted by WordPress, but now there’s just fewer letters to type to find all of the riveting information you come here for!

Catch you on the flip side!

No comments yet

Leave a comment