Skip to content

New month…

February 2, 2012

New challenge!

Scan_Pic0002

January’s challenge was such a success around these parts, that I decided I should make this a regular thing!  I know my family is really anxious to see what new challenges I can come up with for us!  I have a few in mind, but I can always entertain suggestions…

Let’s use our time machine to go back to the day I made my New Year’s Resolutions.  I hope I have enough plutonium

I set three fitness related goals for the year: Run another half marathon, run a sub-30 5K, and finish The New Rules of Lifting for Women.

Dad & Gillian on the Scooter

Surprisingly, my once-a-week workouts aren’t going to get me there.  Phooey. 

Because of two months of skipped workouts, I’m now further from my goals than I was when I set them.  So.  Frustrating!

February’s challenge should fix that.  So, without further ado, I present to you….February’s Challenge:

At least 10 minutes of movement per day

Kind of a let down, wasn’t it?  I bet you thought I was going to say “No skipped workouts in February”.  Nope.  I thought about it.  But life doesn’t really work out that way.  Things pop up.  And that’s a really big goal that was just setting me and my family up for failure.

2011-11-13_10-20-56_292

Ten minutes is attainable.  Ten minutes is also enough to get me thinking, “well, I’ve done this much…why stop now?!”  Ten minutes is enough to get me off the couch and at least get me moving. 

I am still working towards my fitness goals, but on the days that I have a planned rest day, or just not enough time to get a run in b/c it’s too dark, I’ll at least be moving.  And, maybe, on those days when there’s just “not enough time” I’ll not feel like stopping once I get started.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

