Skip to content

Is it over yet?

January 31, 2012

Ah, January.  I don’t think I’ll miss you one bit! 

When I set this challenge I had no idea how it was going to work out.  I am the queen of not following through, so this was going to be a struggle!  We would eat out 3-4 times a week regularly, which wasn’t necessarily good for our wallets or our waists!  IMG_0135IMG_0141IMG_0149IMG_0161

The goals:

When I set this goal, we were coming down off of our Holiday high.  Too many meals out and over-indulging was starting to affect the way my pants fit.  I was hoping to nip that situation in the bud! 

The restaurants we have in ‘Hachie are not exactly 5-star.  They’re not very real food friendly, either.  I cringed every time G ordered a hamburger and French fries, or fettucini alfredo.  Not bad if they’re treats reserved for every [great] once in a while, but not if they’re four times a week!  Staying out of restaurants also gave me the ability to control what my family was eating.  Sure we had some white bread and pasta, but we also ate whole grains, fruits and vegetables, and lean proteins. 

IMG_0190IMG_0195

How it went:

There were a couple of issues (like herehere…and possibly here, even though I’m not counting that one), but overall, I’m beyond thrilled with the results.  3-4 meals over the course of 31 days as opposed to 3-4 meals in one week.  I say that’s a total win!IMG_0199IMG_0207IMG_0213IMG_0220

What I learned:

There are several things this month has taught me.  I will pull this list out and look at it whenever I’m tempted to skip cooking and just go out.

IMG_0241IMG_0246

1.  There is no restaurant within a 30 mile radius of the house that I actually craved or missed.  Seriously.  Wednesdays are half price wine night at Carino’s;  I missed the wine.  But then I remembered I had some upstairs.  Woot!

yum food0004yum food0005yum food0006chickens and garden0010

2.  The kitchen will not implode if I provide a meal for my family between the hours of 5:00 pm on Friday and 2:00 pm on Sunday.  For. Real.  This was a total shock to me, too!  Just picture me that first Friday night.  I tip-toed into the kitchen.  Gingerly pulled out the ingredients needed.  I was scared to turn on the oven, but, guess what?!  When I did, nothing happened!  Well, the oven came on, but the kitchen remained intact!  Of all the things I learned this month, I think this was the most shocking and important.

3.  I may not be a great chef (or even a decent cook, for that matter) but I love to be in my kitchen!  And I love to torture my family with new, creative meals.  Mmmm.  New flavors!  New foods!  They may complain loudly, but I know that, deep down, (maybe really deep down) they appreciate the effort I make to provide healthy meals for them.

4.  I didn’t necessarily learn this, but I didn’t have anywhere else to put it.  I think Ron travels so much to avoid my cooking.  Since he traveled weekly this month, he was exempt from the majority of the challenge.  The next one is going to be easier for him to participate.  You can’t see it, but trust me, he’s super excited! Winking smile

IMG_0181So are these two!

One Comment leave one →
  1. January 31, 2012 8:51 pm

    Sounds like No Restaurants January was a great success, Congratulations!

Leave a Reply

