Skip to content

Should’ve been a cowboy

January 27, 2012

stock show0009

With only a week left in the January Challenge, Ron and I had a date day planned.  All day at the Fort Worth Stock Show.  I could have taken a lunch for us, and we could have returned home in time for dinner, but that’s not really how we roll.  I didn’t even have a lunch planned for G, who was staying at the house with a nephew.  As you’ve seen throughout this blog, I am a master planner.  Or not. Smile with tongue out

We started our day off with corny dogs next to the Ferris wheel.  Are you jealous?  You should be!

Then we walked, shopped, and talked.  We had some friends in from out of town that we met up with for a short time, then we went our separate ways.  Kristin joined us for the late afternoon and evening.

stock show0001stock show0002

Beers were enjoyed.  Horses were petted.  Boots were walked in.

stock show0004stock show0005stock show0006stock show0007

Ron and I were scoping it all out.  The plan is to return in two weeks with the munchkin to look at the chickens and goats (and maybe the rabbits).  One can never have too many farm animals!  Especially on 3 acres in the country!  Winking smile

stock show0008stock show0010stock show0003

After walking, talking, and shopping, it was time for Kristin to head home.  Ron and I were on our own for dinner, then planned to meet back up with his friends from out of town in the Stockyards.

Since we were going to be just down the street to end our night, we decided dinner should be at Lonesome Dove.  I’ve been there once before, and have been dreaming of the day I got to go back.  The food is spectacular!  I wish I could remember what exactly was ordered!

Ron and I shared one item from each course.  This way we were able to try several things without getting too full!  The menu changes weekly, and isn’t posted online, so I am not giving you the full name of everything because I can’t remember!

I cannot remember what we ordered for our first course!  It was really good, I just don’t remember what it was!  How sad is that?!

For our second course we enjoyed the hominy.  Amazing!  I was lifting the bowl up to lick it clean when I noticed the dirty looks from Ron.  I think he was just jealous he didn’t get the bowl first.

For the main course we ordered the Elk Loin.  Let me state for the record, I love wild game.  That is all.  We also ordered the mac and cheese.  It’s a must.  I’ve searched high and low for a mac ‘n’ cheese dish that compares.  No one comes close.  Tim Love is an artist.  A genius.  I may have a small crush on him based solely on his food.

Yeah.  I still don’t feel guilty about this meal in a restaurant.  Not one little bit!

ETA: Our first course was kangaroo nachos.  They were not at all whataww was expecting!  The meat was so tender and flavorful!  These were also served with the best guacamole I’ve ever had!  I really can’t believe I forgot those!

6 Comments leave one →
  1. Ron permalink
    January 27, 2012 4:15 pm

    Kangaroo nachos! Goofy!

  2. January 28, 2012 4:11 pm

    Hey, your pictures look great, too! I love the one of that building lit up at night.

Leave a Reply

