Skip to content

The Mint

January 25, 2012

The end of last week found me at two different restaurants that I just can’t feel guilty about.  I mean, I’ve tried.  The guilt just isn’t there.  Sorry!

Friday I had a work lunch that had been scheduled for about a month (and had been postponed at least twice already).  It couldn’t be moved, and I couldn’t not eat!  So we decided to go somewhere special, a little out of the ordinary.  Kristin suggested The Mint

I am so sorry that I have no pictures!  Bad blogger! 

The restaurant has a casual, modern vibe.  The interior décor gives it a light, airy, fresh feeling.

I ordered the Tom Kha Coconut Soup to start, and the Mint Platter off of the appetizer menu as my main dish.  The platter consists of  chicken satay, fresh summer rolls, and crispy vegetable dumplings.  I traded my crispy vegetable dumplings for Kristin’s Steamed Vegetable Dumplings.

This was my first taste of coconut soup, and I loved it!  It’s going on my list of things to order whenever it’s on the menu!  I really enjoyed the subtle sweetness of the broth and the way it mixed with the tomatoes and mushrooms.  I thought the chicken in it was a little bland, so next time I may try it with the shrimp instead.

Everything on the Mint Platter was amazing.  Next time, though, I will add shrimp to the summer rolls (I’m beginning to see a common thread with my dishes…I think I need more shrimp!).  I did order a side of the cucumber sauce on Kristin’s recommendation.  I enjoyed the rolls and dumplings equally with the peanut sauce and the cucumber. 

I left feeling full, but not stuffed.  I love finding that balance!  I can’t wait to go back…maybe next time I can try one of their martini’s.  I hear they’re delicious!

I’ll tell you about Saturday’s restaurant another time…

4 Comments leave one →
  1. Ron permalink
    January 25, 2012 6:59 pm

    No I wanna know now!!!

  2. January 25, 2012 8:41 pm

    Yes, it was delicious as usual, and I’m so glad you liked it! I’m looking forward to that half-day off we talked about and chowing down again at The Mint.

    Also, just wanted to say again – sorry!

    • January 25, 2012 9:55 pm

      Thank you, again for the recommendation! We have to go back soon!

Leave a Reply

