Skip to content

Blame it on Mexico

January 19, 2012

Tuesday was one of those days.  You know the ones… you can’t put your finger on what made it so difficult, but by the time your day’s over, you’re wiped out.  One of those days when nothing but a margarita will make it better?

Please tell me I’m not the only one who has those.

I had no real plan for dinner (forgot to put the pork roast in the slow cooker) and no energy to come up with a plan.  So El Fenix provided our meal for the evening.  As well as a margarita on the rocks.  So. Not. Worth it!  Everything was off, nothing tasted right.  Or maybe that was just the guilt… Sad smile

But the next day I was back in the game.  Open-mouthed smile

food0001

I followed this recipe.  Meh.  There was too much of something, but we couldn’t figure it out.  I even halved the basil.  I also sautéed fresh green beans with olive oil and garlic, then added a mixed green salad with Parmesan Ranch Dressing.

I have a pretty stocked kitchen most of the time, but there are a few things that I don’t have.  A couple of things I can think of off the top of my head: milk frother, skimmer, strainer, cheese cloth.  None of these are big ticket items, but I still don’t see myself adding them to my kitchen supplies any time soon. But every once in a while, something is called for, and I think I might probably get one.

For the pork, a skimmer was called for to skim the fat off the top of the juices left in the crockpot so I could make gravy.  I obviously could not have lumpy gravy!  Oh, what’s a girl to do?!

yum food0005

I spy something with my little eye…

I temporarily turned my zester into a strainer!  It took a few passes through, but it subbed in pretty well for a skimmer!

Another tool that my kitchen is missing is a milk frother.  I shopped on Amazon for one, and found one, but just couldn’t pull the trigger on the purchase.  Especially not when Google had a solution!

IMG_0202

I may not have a frother, but I have at least half a dozen of these little jars!  I just pour the amount of half and half that I’d normally pour into my coffee.  Screw the lid on, then shake!  Take the lid off and microwave for ~30 seconds.  Watch it so the froth doesn’t overflow.  Pour into your coffee and spoon the remaining froth on top.  Just like the coffee shop, only cheaper! Winking smile  I have done this with milk, and it worked just fine.  The almond milk didn’t froth up as nicely as the milk or half and half.  I don’t recommend it, but I may have just done it wrong.

And that’s all for tonight!  Thanks for stopping by!

And you stay classy, San Diego!

One Comment leave one →
  1. Ron permalink
    January 20, 2012 12:08 pm

    That’s more like it!!!

Leave a Reply

