Skip to content

Oops

January 10, 2012

I have a confession.  But I’m not telling you yet.

When I made the No Restaurants in January Pledge I knew that weekends would be especially hard.  The best way to beat them would be to make sure there was a plan.  So I had a plan.  The plan was to not eat in a restaurant.  I know, I should give lectures on setting goals and making plans. 

So Friday was going to be pizza night!  I froze homemade pizza dough the weekend prior and set half out to thaw Thursday night.  Make-your-own-pizza night is always a winner with the kid at our house.  It usually tastes better than the over-priced pizza we can get delivered to the house in the middle of nowhere, and I like that I get to make my own G gets to make her own!IMG_0206 

G selected pepperoni and black olives – her normal go-to when ordering to go.  I wanted a bit more exotic.  Prosciutto, pork sausage, and tomatoes.  I really wanted spinach, but was too lazy to go out and get it out of the garage refrigerator. 

Success, right?!

Confession #1.  No.  We decided that beers were necessary after basketball practice.  We also snacked on their very delicious crackers with jalapeno-raspberry jelly.  Good, but not worth it.

IMG_0199

Saturday started with a very early basketball scrimmage.  This required coffee with my newfound ability to froth milk with a jar!  I’ll share another day.

Confession #2.  We ended up being out for a very long time.  I did not eat breakfast.  By 11:00 we were all starving and  had nothing to eat with us.  At Brookshire’s, where we did our grocery shopping for the week, I had a turkey sandwich on wheat bread. 

I did not let these two small incidents derail me.  What I learned: make a better plan.  And have snacks with you for the whole family. 

By Sunday we were back on track.  Brisket on the smoker.  Amazing. 

So far I’m still happy with the way the month is going so far.  We’re already 10 days in, and I’ve only eaten out (and really those were just snacks) two times.  This is such a major win for this household.  I’m also thrilled that I didn’t throw in the towel after my “oops”’s.  I have a plan for the lunches and dinners this week.  I also have a plan for this weekend.  I’m really looking forward to Saturday night! 

Tell you all about it soon!

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

