Skip to content

Another Egg-citing Day!

January 6, 2012

IMG_9889

This little chicken isn’t laying eggs yet, but when she does, they will be blue!  I love our fresh brown eggs, but I can’t wait to have the variety that the blue will bring to my egg basket!  When we get chicks this spring, I want at least one more that will lay blue eggs.  Easter eggs without the work! Winking smile

Eggs were the base for tonight’s dinner, again!  (Please note that this is day 5 of no restaurants!)  I wanted hard-boiled eggs, so I put 4 in a pot on the stove, covered with water, and boiled for 9 minutes.  I like my yolks to be bright yellow and just firm, so anything more than 9 minutes is too long!

I decided eggs alone wouldn’t work for dinner, so I scoured my pantry for anything to add to it….

We had rolls left over from the NYE Gathering (white bread from Costco…they need to be eaten!).  I also had a can of tuna.  But I was missing color!

Mixed greens in the refrigerator, drizzled with rosemary olive oil and balsamic vinegar (it’s flavored, but I can’t remember what the flavor was!).

IMG_0190

Look at that beautiful yellow yolk!  So bright!  So tasty!  One egg went into the tuna salad with a little mayonnaise, one egg went straight into my belly!  And an apple to finish (drowned in olive oil and balsamic).  I know you love my fancy napkin.  My plate’s pretty high-class, too!  I know, not earth friendly, but I couldn’t stand the thought of any more dishes tonight…and I can’t find any cloth napkins that I want to spend my money on.

I went back for more…IMG_0196

But a little munchkin had finished it off!


In case you were wondering, I did run last night! The prescribed workout was: 5 minute warm-up, 4 minute run, 1 minute walk, repeat 4 times.  I did 5 minutes of stairs with a crazy coonhound, then did the 20 minutes on the treadmill.  I’m not gonna lie, I really struggled!  I probably should not expect to bounce right back after a month of nothing!  That workout was actually supposed to be completed on Tuesday night, but I just did the first workouts of New Rules of Lifting for Women.  Yesterday was supposed to be a rest day with speed work tonight, but I’m resting tonight and doing my speed work tomorrow.  No real reason, just didn’t feel like going all the way up to the YMCA to run on treadmills that work.  Tomorrow…I promise!

Our week was supposed to look like this:

Sunday Monday Tuesday Wednesday Thursday Friday Saturday
Rest NROLFW 1A 20 minute jog Rest Speed work
4×400
Rest NROLFW 1B

So far everything has just shifted back one day.  I’ll still get it all in! Smile

IMG_9842IMG_9867

Thanks for stopping by!  Until tomorrow!

4 Comments leave one →
  1. January 6, 2012 12:15 pm

    Taryn, your pictures look great!

    • January 6, 2012 12:44 pm

      Thank you! It’s amazing what a difference the new camera makes!

  2. Ron permalink
    January 6, 2012 12:41 pm

    You stay classy San Diego.

    • January 6, 2012 12:44 pm

      Ha! I was thisclose to signing off with that!

Leave a Reply

