Skip to content

The Garden, Week 9?

September 27, 2011

The GardenThe Garden

I can’t tell you how many weeks I’ve been working in my garden.  All I know is that I’m astonished daily that it’s still growing and flourishing in one of the hottest, driest summers we’ve had. 

I have watermelons!

The GardenCIMG1302CIMG1300They are growing so quickly!  There are currently 3 that appear to be growing.  I can’t wait for them to be ripe!  (Anyone know how you can tell if it’s ripe?)

SeedlingsI have broccoli, Swiss chard, kale, spinach and leaf lettuce sprouting in the egg cartons.  Very exciting!

The GardenThe GardenThe GardenI seriously think my pumpkin plant is trying to take over the world.  I’ve never seen anything grow like this!

The GardenThe tomato plants have grown so much in the last couple of weeks.  They look stronger and healthier than they did two weeks ago. 

The GardenYou can barely see them, but I planted carrot seeds more than 2 weeks ago.  I noticed on Saturday that I have about 10 sprouts!  Grow carrots, grow!

The GardenHoly corn!  I’m so looking forward to harvesting from these plants!

The GardenI don’t think my cantaloupe is going to make it, but my summer squash is flourishing.  You win some, you lose some.  I’m disappointed, but am already looking forward to how to make sure I get cantaloupe next year.

The GardenThe GardenSaturday I planted 2 more squares of butter head lettuce, 2 more of leaf lettuce, 1 green bean and 1 spinach.  I’m hoping the weather has cooled off enough to allow these to sprout, but Sunday was over 100 degrees again.  Ugh!

The GardenMy jalapeno was dying, and I couldn’t figure out why until I started looking at companion planting.  Peppers can’t be planted next to tomatoes.  Ah.  Oops!  I moved the jalapeno to an empty square next to my bell peppers, so hopefully it will start to grow again.  Sorry, Jalapeno!

The GardenThe cucumber is shooting up!  I finally got a cage around it so it could go vertical.  I don’t like that the leaves are so droopy, but they didn’t even perk up after watering.  Maybe this is how they always look?

The GardenThe bell peppers are really loving all the shade provided by the pumpkin plant.  They’re still very leggy, but are growing tons of new leaves at the top.  I’m pretty sure they’ll be ok.

The GardenNext year zucchini will definitely get 4 squares.  It’s so pretty, but it’s covering up my butternut squash.  I may try to move the butternut squash to the empty square behind it to give it a chance.  I may just chalk it up as a loss and move on.  I haven’t decided yet.

This garden is an experiment that is doing so much better than I ever could have expected.  I have no idea when to expect more fruit, but I’m inspecting every plant whenever I go out.  I’m also pleasantly surprised at how little work this garden has been.  I know that when I’m harvesting, it will require so much more of my time, but right now it’s been pretty easy!

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

