Skip to content

Lessons Learned Before, During and After a 6 Mile Run

September 26, 2011

Today was my long run.  I ran 6 miles.  It wasn’t easy, it wasn’t fast, but I did it!

6 mile long run

6 mile splits This is a new personal record.  Only 4 more of those to go before the race!

This was also a great learning experience.  It was really the first run I’ve had that was longer than an hour, therefore, a chance to see how different factors affected my performance.  I’ve compiled a list of things I learned, and thought I would share them with you.

Before

Pre Run Breakfast1.  There will be two breakfasts.  The first was Dakota Bread with crunchy peanut butter and banana slices, coffee and water.  At first I thought it may have been too much, but it really wasn’t.

2.  Walking isn’t cheating!  I have always beaten myself up for my walk breaks during runs.  I’ve not allowed myself to celebrate the run, because I didn’t run the entire distance.  However, I have found several articles and professionals discussing the benefits of planned walk breaks.  I tried them Wednesday with my short run and was very happy with my times, so I decided to implement planned walk breaks in this run.  I’m not unhappy with my splits.

During

1.  The purple Champion shorts from Target ride up and cause chafing.  They will not be worn for another long run.  Ouch!

2.  I could really benefit from a “>fuel belt.  This may be going on my Christmas list.  Unfortunately, I think I’ll need it before that.

3.  The “>berry-flavored Jelly Belly Sports Beans are pretty good, but make sure you have something to drink.  They stick to your teeth.

4.  Walk breaks rock! (See above).

After

1.  Ice baths aren’t that bad, but definitely would be better with beer.

Post Run Breakfast2.  I will be hungry!  Breakfast #2 definitely needs to quickly follow the ice bath.  Scrambled eggs, 1 slice of bacon, 1 biscuit with jelly and cantaloupe worked short term, but I was hungry again within a couple of hours.

3.  Do not weigh directly after a run.  I’m just going to say it was water retention and forget I stepped foot on the scale this morning.  Disappointed smile

4.

Blue Moon Pumpkin AleBeer makes a great post-run snack.  Yum!

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

