Skip to content

The Garden, Week 6!

September 13, 2011

Garden, Week 6The growth in my garden continues to astound me.  I never realized how exciting this project would be for my whole family.  We have so much fun seeing all the changes day to day.

Garden, Week 6 Garden, Week 6
Garden, Week 6 Garden, Week 6
Garden, Week 6 Garden, Week 6
Garden, Week 6 Garden, Week 6
Garden, Week 6 Garden, Week 6

There are new blooms on the pumpkin, watermelon and tomato plants. 

I also wanted to point out the difference in my tomato plants in just a couple of weeks.

Garden Week 3.5 Garden, Week 6
Garden Week 3.5 Garden, Week 6

On the day the pictures on the left were taken, I added ‘Mater Magic to the soil around the tomatoes.  In just 2-1/2 weeks, they have turned bright green, have almost doubled in size and have blooms.  A couple of different things have happened in the past 2-1/2 weeks, however, that could have contributed to the growth of my tomato plants.  The temperatures over the last week have cooled considerably, and we now have a permanent shade over the tomatoes to block the worst of the afternoon sun.  But it is very exciting to see the extent to which these plants have perked up in just 2 weeks.

I would like to add fertilizer to the rest of my plants to see if they help with growth any.  If anyone has organic fertilizer suggestions, I would love to hear them!

Also, you may remember these guys: CIMG1128  Well, I managed to kill them all.  I have started another tray of seeds, and hope that I can keep any sprouts from them alive, but nothing is showing up yet.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

