Skip to content

RnR Training Week 7

September 5, 2011

My first week back on the road was not easy.  I didn’t hit my mileage goals, but I did get two days of strength training in.

My week was supposed to look like this:

Week 7 PlannedMy week ended up looking like this:

ActualYou can find Tuesday’s recap here.

I’m pretty happy with how the week turned out.  Especially since it ended on a high note!

I woke up at 8:30 to run 5 miles this morning.  I felt great, and wide awake, so I knew it was going to be a good run.  It was still under 90 degrees when I went outside, and the wind was blowing just enough to keep me cool.  I decided to run without music again.  I really feel like I need to be able to listen for cars and dogs while I’m running.  I did the same lollipop route that I ran on Wednesday, and kept it nice and slow.  My goal was to finish with no walking.  I didn’t quite make that goal, but I only walked for about 30 seconds twice, and I’m ok with that.

elevationYou can click on my splits to get my run details.

I’m especially excited about my 4th and 5th miles.  Mile 3 was actually a little scary.  About halfway through, I got too close to the edge of the road and rolled my ankle.  I slowed down just to make sure I hadn’t hurt myself, but by mile 4, I had totally forgotten about the incident.  Still no soreness, so I’m very thankful that I didn’t hurt myself!  I really need to not zone out while I’m running!

I also carried a rock with me to chunk at any dogs that came after me, but I didn’t have any problems.

Next week is supposed to look like this:

Week 8 planI think I’ve got this one!

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

