Skip to content

The Meal Plan

September 3, 2011

There are two types of people in this world (ok, probably an oversimplification, but I’m sticking with it): those who follow recipes, and those who make recipes.

Traditionally, I am a recipe follower.  I do not stray from the recipe on purpose.  I need this set of instructions to guide my cooking, otherwise, I don’t cook.

Ron is a recipe maker.  He follows his taste buds to greatness.  Almost every time.

But since I began reading more about food I have begun to experiment more.  This comes to mind…

Every week, I would make a menu for the following week.  This was not a loose idea of what we may eat during the week.  It was a menu.  Monday – Steak with potatoes; Tuesday – Chicken a la Some Random Website with spinach; and so forth.

This week, I am trying something different.  I am terribly afraid this will backfire.

I am going to use what I have, and purchase those staples I am out of, to make all of our meals.  We are going to buy vegetables from the Farmer’s Market that will inspire my dishes.  I do have three side dishes that I would like to incorporate.  I’ll add those to my list.

Skillet Glazed Corn with Ginger, Lime & Coconut Cara’s Cravings

Breakfast Cookie French Toast Family Fresh Cooking

Easy Beer Mac and Cheese How Sweet It Is

So this is what I have on hand:

I’m sure you can’t tell, but there are chicken breasts, a couple of steaks, red leaf lettuce, broccoli, salsa, some random cheeses, peanut butter and a papaya in there.

Wish me luck trying to figure that out!

One Comment leave one →
  1. September 3, 2011 11:01 am

    Best of luck with your cooking journey this weekend. You gotta let me know how the breakfast cookie french toast turns out 🙂

Leave a Reply

