Skip to content

Dreams of Eggs

August 31, 2011

The Dream 

Confession:  I daydream about food.

Often.

Many days my afternoon commute home is filled with dreams and plans and tastes for dinner.  Especially when my plan for the night is: Use up leftovers in the fridge.  This plan takes excessive imaginative skills.

Today my dream began with eggs.  And beer can chicken (I will get that recipe to you someday; it will be worth the wait).  And buttermilk.  Then I added gruyere cheese.  I knew I needed color in this dream, so I added the 1/2 tomato and handful of spinach waiting in the refrigerator.  What were they waiting for, you ask?  Why, this meal!  They were made for this dish.  And my mouth watered the whole drive home as I planned and searched for the perfect frittata recipe to base my idea on.

When I couldn’t find that perfect recipe, I got discouraged.  Then Gillian asked for a quiche.  That search was even more disheartening.  So I put away the iPad and Google, and opened my refrigerator to see what else I could make with leftovers.

Front and center was the bag of beer can chicken and the basket of beautiful brown eggs.  It was a sign!

I pulled out all of the other necessary ingredients, found a bell pepper to throw in the mix, then started hunting for the Gruyere cheese.  But, alas, it was not to be found.  So I pulled out the pre-shredded colby and parmesan.  They would have to suffice.

 The Recipe

1/2 tbsp butter (or olive oil)
1 large roasted chicken breast, chopped
1/2 small green bell pepper, chopped
1/2 small tomato, chopped
handful of spinach, roughly chopped
6 eggs
1/3 c buttermilk (skim would probably work, too)
1/3 c Colby Jack cheese, shredded (Cheddar or Gruyere would work really well)
 
Melt butter in an oven-safe skillet over medium-high heat, then add peppers, tomato and chicken. Saute until bell peppers begin to soften. Add spinach and saute quickly until wilted. Beat eggs with buttermilk, then add to vegetables in skillet. Cook, running a spatula around the edges. As edges set, pull to center to allow egg in the middle to run out. When egg is almost set in the center, add cheese, then place under the broiler. When cheese is melted, and center is set, remove from oven, about 3-5 minutes. Garnish with parmesan and fresh parsley.

You’ll notice that there are no finished pictures.  I couldn’t wait. 

I loved this, but really think the Gruyere cheese would have probably been better.  It is a stronger cheese that would have added a nice kick to the frittata.  Depending on the flavors used in the chicken, your add-ins could be any number of vegetables and cheese that you have in your refrigerator.

PS I found the Gruyere cheese in the fruit drawer when I was cleaning up.  Evidently it was hiding, to be used another day.

 

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Ron permalink
    August 31, 2011 1:00 pm

    This was the best one yet!!!! I so enjoyed reading it. Thanks for the hunger pains… 🙂

    • August 31, 2011 2:03 pm

      Why thank you! I promise to make it for you some day…next time we have beer can chicken in the refrigerator!

Leave a Reply

