Skip to content

Back to School!

August 24, 2011

Well, it looks like somebody took an impromptu vacation.  And no, it wasn’t me.

But now we are back at school.  I would love to tell you how wonderful and easy it’s been.  I would really like to be able to share with you all of my tips for successfully juggling a full-time job, a school-ager, after school activities, working out and providing 3-6 yummy, healthful meals day in and day out.  But I can’t.

It makes me tired just writing that.  Ok, maybe I was already tired.

To tell you the truth, there is nothing easy about the school year.  For the parents, or the students.

Every summer I spend weeks preparing; studying every article I can find about school year routines and reading every blog I can find on healthy lunch box ideas.  I daydream about beautiful Bento style lunch boxes G will take to school filled with healthy, homemade food.

This summer was no different.  I purchased a new cookbooks with the hope that it would save G’s lunches.  And, if I was lucky, it would have ideas that Ron and I could use as well.  I actually highly recommend Peas and Thank You: Simple Meatless Meals the Whole Family Will Love.  She also has a blog, and one of her recent posts was about school lunches.  My family and I are not vegan, however, her food looks and sounds delicious and she is hilarious.  I am looking forward to preparing several of her recipes!

But I digress.  I feel like my time at home these last few days has been spent in the kitchen.  By the time I cook dinner, eat, clean up and make lunches for all three of us (and have breakfast ready to go, and snacks for all of us), I am exhausted.  I know that I will find a routine that works for me, but I also know that I need to cut myself some slack.  I am doing the best I can with the time I have.  I am giving my family meals that I lovingly prepare at home with their health in mind.  I may not make a lunch for G every single day this school year, but I will send her with a healthy lunch often.  I will also send her to school with an actual breakfast in her tummy.

To this end, I will make sure my kitchen is stocked with the ingredients I need to prepare healthy meals for my family.  I will also take the time I have to prepare food in advance when possible.

And I will enjoy a little of this for dessert every now and then!

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

