Skip to content

The Garden Week 1

August 10, 2011

What a difference a week makes!  I am seeing sprouts all over the place!  It is so exciting to see the little green specs amongst the dirt.  Every day I cannot wait to get out to see what new things are happening in my garden.

Building

We started with a basic plan, which I developed from All New Square Foot Gardening
and Vegetable Gardening.  I worked and reworked my plan over the course of a couple of weeks.  I also used North Haven Garden’s Planting Dates for North Texas to mark my plan with the dates that my seeds needed to go into the ground.  One of the components of Square Foot Gardening is to stagger planting throughout the planting season so that you don’t have everything ready to harvest at the same time.  This way you can enjoy your harvest over several weeks.

We purchased our dirt from The Living Earth in Lancaster.  They were recommended to me by one of the farmers at the Waxahachie Farmer’s Market.  For any raised garden this size, the best, most economical way to buy quality dirt is in bulk.

Mel’s Mix calls for 3 equal parts vermiculite, compost, and soil.  After speaking with the owner at The Living Earth, we decided to go with 3 equal parts of extracted shale, organic compost and soil.  They dumped it into our trailer, and away we went!

We then built the boxes and the fence around the garden.  I have already found several bunnies staring longingly at my green plants, so I’m very glad we took the time to construct the enclosure!

Once the boxes were constructed, and lined with black weed cloth, we shoveled in our mix.  This was by far the most labor-intensive part of the whole process!  The mix needed to stay loose, so we smoothed the top with a board, but did not pack in the mix.  Your roots need to be able to spread through the mix, and they can’t do that if the mix is packed tightly.

While Ron and I were working on the fence, G took a ruler and marked the top of the boards at every 12″.  Mel, in The Square Foot Garden, recommends a wooden grid, but we are using nylon string this fall.  If it doesn’t work, we’ll upgrade in the spring, but for this fall, I think it will work.

 Planting

After the fence was stretched, and the gate installed, I started planting!  We had purchased 4 tomato plants, 2 bell peppers, and 1 jalapeno that I needed to get in the ground, along with seeds for:

1 cucumber
1 brussels sprouts
1 pumpkin
1 watermelon
1 small row of spinach (3 plants)
1 broccoli
1 cantaloupe
2 corn
1 butternut squash
1 row of green beans (3 plants)
 
 
 
 

One Week Later!

And now, one week later (and a few days), we have sprouts!

Watermelon?

Big Pumpkins!

Cantaloupe!

Corn!

Well, time to water!

Resources you might find helpful:

Vegetable Gardening Plans

All New Square Foot Gardening

My Square Foot Garden

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

