Skip to content

Tropical Sunrise Smoothie

July 31, 2011

I have created my new favorite Green Monster!

The different fruits blend together so well.  I take a sip, close my eyes, and hear the waves crashing against the shore and the seagulls calling overhead.  But only for a second, because I’m sitting in traffic on my way to work when I open my eyes back up.  Oh well. 

I took my inspiration for this smoothie from Angela’s Berry Doughy Smoothie and Kath’s Dough Boy Smoothie.  I made overnight oats one evening for breakfast the next morning, but had no berries to put in it.  So I laid awake in bed all night, ok, just a few minutes, mentally going over my frozen fruit inventory.  This is what I came up with.  I hope you enjoy!

Ingredients:

Overnight Oats (recipe below)
2-3 slices of frozen peaches
3-4 cubes of frozen pineapple
3-4 cubes of frozen mango
1 small frozen banana
 
Place all in a blender and blend until smooth.  If you want to drink this from a cup, you will need to add orange juice and more almond milk until you reach the desired consistency. 
 

Overnight Oats Recipe:

1/3 cup each of rolled oats, unsweetened vanilla almond milk and plain yogurt
<1/2 tbsp maple syrup
1/4 tsp almond extract
 1 tbsp chia seeds
 
Combine ingredients and refrigerate overnight.
 

Enjoy!

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

