Skip to content

Time to play!

July 26, 2011

Tonight I get to work out and play! At the same time! I’m so excited and anxious to get started!

It’s played indoors. And I have to have special shoes. That I had to dig out of a box.

Any guesses?

Ok, I’ll tell you…I’m playing soccer! That’s right, it’s my first game of the season.

I would be lying by omission if I didn’t tell you I am just a bit nervous. Ok, a lot nervous! I haven’t played in over three years when Ron and I played on a coed team together. And really, that was my first experience actually playing soccer. I really have no skills, but I am very competitive! I’m hoping that’s enough for this team!

20110725-074243.jpg

My game is at 9:30, so I’ll just have to tell you how it goes another day.

So how does one fuel for their first soccer game in three years you ask? Well, I’m a little embarrassed about my meals today. Or lack thereof. I’m almost too embarrassed to tell you, but I probably should. That way you’ll understand why my performance was lacking. Because I’m sure that will be the only reason!

Breakfast: coffee
Lunch: pre made tuna packet with trail mix and cookies
Dinner: 1 hot dog, sweet potato fries and a grilled cheese

In my defense we don’t have much in the way of food…other than party leftovers that I was too lazy to do anything with. I’m sure I’ll be fine. Really.

My training for the week is a little different as I try to determine how soccer is going to affect my training.
Sunday: off
Monday: play
Tuesday: speedwork
Wednesday: Strength
Thursday: strength
Friday: long run- 5 miles
Saturday: off

Last week was pretty good. I did my tempo run Tuesday, and was very happy with it. I did do a quick arms and abs workout Wednesday. Friday was my long run, and it sucked! I had too many beers on Thursday, so I slept late and was slightly dehydrated heading outdoors into the heat. I managed two miles outside, but had to walk a good portion of the second mile. I did another 2 miles inside on the treadmill, but they were very slow and painful. Lesson learned: no beer the night before a morning outside run!

Alright, off to play! Wish me luck!

What’s your favorite sport to play? How long has it been since you’ve played?

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

