Skip to content

A Little of This, A Little of That

July 16, 2011
The drive home

It’s back to my normal blogging spot today!  I hope you enjoyed my iPad blog.  It was very easy to post from, so you may be seeing many more from that.  Hopefully you won’t be able to tell the difference!

I would love to be out here, but it’s still over 1,000 degrees outside, so I’ll just enjoy it from inside the house!

I’m a speedster!

Speedwork was fun!  It totally flew by.  I’m not sure how I’m going to go back to plodding along for my easy runs again!  According to Smart Coach my assignment was: 1 mile warm up; 2 x 1600 @ 9:43 pace (6.3 mph); 800 meters jog; cool down. 

After a quick dinner, I loaded G, the nephew, and the neighbor.  They were going to swim while I used the treadmill (the thermometer was still reading about 10,000 F, so an outside run was out of the question). 

My finished run looked like this: 400 meter walk; 400 meter jog (5.1 mph); 1600 meters @ 9:43; 800 meters jog (5.1 mph); 800 meters @ 9:43; 400 meters jog; 400 meters @ 9:43; 400 meters walk (cool down).  I shorted myself one mile, but was very happy with the workout.

I am still really struggling with last week’s lack of motivation.  It’s been very difficult for me to push through this week.  I get so frustrated with myself when I fall off the wagon.  It seems I take one step forward, then get sidetracked and take a dozen backwards.  One bad day really does a number on my motivation, and usually sets me back much more than just the one day. 

As much fun as speedwork was last night, I still had to push myself to keep going.  I had an inner monologue going almost the entire time.  I fought myself to keep going, and just had to keep reminding myself that this workout matters.  This run will help me achieve my goal for the half marathon.  Even though the race is more than three months away, I need this run.

And I felt great when I finished.  The sense of accomplishment and the runner’s high put an extra spring in my step as I went to pick up the kids from the pool.  I just need to remember that feeling on Sunday as I prepare for my 4-mile run.

Any words of wisdom that keep you going when you’re suffering from a serious lack of motivation?

 

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

