Skip to content

Day 4 Success!

January 5, 2012

We’re already 4 days into January and I haven’t eaten a meal in a restaurant yet!  I also have not ordered take-out!  That’s four whole days!  I’m really excited…this is quite the feat for this house!Party smile

This morning G had some orthodontic work done that made her mouth very sore at dinnertime.  Her dinner was smoothie.

IMG_0134

Just in time for a very colorful sunset!  In the blender went 1 cup of vanilla almond milk (unsweetened), 1 cup of frozen berries (blueberries, raspberries, and blackberries), 1 tbsp of ground flax, and 1 small handful of spinach.  Blend until smooth.  I usually have to add a splash of milk to get the right consistency.  The picture above really didn’t capture the bright purple that this smoothie came out.  It was very pretty!

I, however, was looking forward to something much more substantial.

IMG_9884

This pretty lady, Red, has been leaving me an egg every other day.  I have an obsession with eggs.  A couple of days ago, there was a post about a crustless quiche in my email.  There is also a block of Coastal English Cheddar Cheese in my refrigerator.  And some veggies from our New Years Eve gathering.

I sautéed chopped broccoli, carrots, grape tomatoes and spinach in butter, then added it to 5 eggs from my chickens (you should have seen the bright yolks!) with a splash of milk, and dash of salt and pepper.  Last in the mix was some freshly grated cheese.  Pour it into a greased oven-proof dish and bake at 350* for roughly 30 minutes (or until the middle sets).

IMG_0142

It was too done.  Sad smile  And there wasn’t enough cheese, and too many carrots…in fact, don’t do carrots.  They’re just not right in this. 

I also had 3 spinach and feta spanakopita left from the NYE gathering.  Not exactly clean or real, but delicious and needing to be eaten!

And then, while I was eating, I came across this.  I had to make it.  Right.  Then.  So I did!

IMG_0145IMG_0155IMG_0157

(Notice the beautiful KitchenAid Immersion Blender that was a Christmas gift from my parents!)  Packaged up for lunch tomorrow!  (I snuck a taste…delicious, in spite of how it looks!)

And now – it’s playtime!

IMG_0163IMG_0166IMG_0170IMG_0171IMG_0174IMG_0175IMG_0177IMG_0178IMG_0181IMG_0182IMG_0183IMG_0188

I might run tonight…it’s 8:45 and I’m still unsure!  Probably should make up my mind pretty quickly!

Until tomorrow!

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

